Blog post number 2

I have decided to watch and write my essay on episode two of season one. The reason I have chosen this episode is because it is the next episode in the series, and I don’t like being dropped into a story without a preface. There are a few other stories that this episode alludes to. For example, in a flashback, the evil queen has decided that she is going to release the dark curse on the people of the forest. She has to ride to go see Maleficent, who is the main antagonist in the Disney film “Sleeping Beauty”. I’m not sure if this allusion is correct, but I believe that one of Cinderella’s evil step sisters makes an appearance around the fire. I believe this is her because in the original story, as punishment for tormenting Cinderella, they are cursed with crows that come and peck out their eyes. Around the fire there is an evil woman with her eyes sewn shut. In addition to these appearances, I had originally thought that the shrink was supposed to be one of the owners of the 101 dalmatians, since he was walking one in episode one. This turns out to not be the case, since when Henry is talking with him he says “Is that why you think I’m Jiminy Cricket?”, referring to his lucky umbrella. The thing that stuck out to me the most was the tone of the episode. Much like the first episode, the tone of this episode is slightly sinister yet still “family friendly”.

I don’t hate this woman, but I really hate her character.

IMDb:http://ib4.huluim.com/video/60187415?size=476×268&region=us

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_Once_Upon_a_Time_characters

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt2002088/

Leave a comment